Join Bridge Winners
A difficult ruling?

A ruling was not needed on this hand as the match was not close, but I thought it would be a difficult one for a director (my way of saying I'd find it difficult). All four players are internationals, but it is a pivot event played without screens.

West
AJ103
A1042
KJ8
108
North
942
J8765
103
Q94
East
KQ87
3
AQ97652
7
South
65
KQ9
4
AKJ6532
W
N
E
S
1
X
1
4
5
X
P
P
P
D
5X South
NS: 0 EW: 0

The problem was that North's 1 was not alerted, although systemically it did show hearts. East could not double 1 as this would show both majors and West doubled 5 because his hand was poor in context with diamonds poorly positioned.

This match was played privately and there was no TD present. I don't know whether East was given a chance to change her final call when North drew attention to the missing alert, but it is hard to see East doing anything.

5 doubled went three down. EW felt that they were damaged by the misinformation.

Would you adjust and, if so, what to?

61 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top