Join Bridge Winners
Announcement Question

I recall reading that a "could be short" announcement was no longer necessary if the only pattern for which a 1C opening could have fewer than 3 clubs is exactly 4=4=3=2. The Alert Chart on the ACBL website does not say this, on the other hand the chart is also undated. The pre-printed convention cards still show 0-2 NF in blue, suggesting that all 0-2 1C openings are still announceable. Does anyone know the correct rules, and if so, can a link to the official ACBL source be provided?

On a similar vein, are transfers after a NoTrump overcall announceable or alertable? The Alert chart indicates that they are, but I had always thought that the announcements applied only to NoTrump openings. On the pre-printed convention cards in the section for 1NT overcalls, "Systems On" is a checkbox in black, suggesting that transfers (and also natural calls) are neither announceable nor alertable. There is no checkbox for balancing NoTrump bids, leading one to draw the same conclusion.

Thanks

22 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top