Join Bridge Winners
Another question on a director call

This seems to be my month to have questions on director calls.  This one happened in a club game yesterday.  It had virtually no effect on matcpoints but I am curious.  Declarer (W) is a solid B player.

 

Dummy (E) had 6 cards remaining: A hearts, AQx diamonds and AQJ of clubs

Declarer had the K diamonds and another diamond

My partner north had 2 hearts and the Kx of clubs.

There were no remaining spades, declarer and I were out of hearts and all other cards are irrelevant.

The contract was in NT.

Declarer said they were going to play the K diamonds, a diamond to dummy and dummy was good.

I said that dummy was not good and therefore declarer should have to play the least advantageous line of play which means play the A hearts before losing a club and we get a club and a heart vs. just a club if they lose the club before winning the A hearts.

The director said declarer could not be forced to take an illogical line of play and that unblocking hearts would be illogical. 

I said that since declarer thought that dummy was good, that all lines were equal and there was no illogical line.

What is the correct ruling?

Thanks,

99 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top