Join Bridge Winners
Can you have UI generated solely through your own actions?

W
N
E
S
1
1
P
P
1NT
2
P
P
3
P
P
3
P
P
?

Partner's 1NT rebid is 18-19, and your long BIT would have constrained partner's options when his third turn came around. Partner would pass if that was at all an LA, so partner presumably has an extra pure 18-19 with six or so diamonds, likely AKQxxx and a card in each side suit. Partner definitely thinks their call would withstand a ruling, at any rate.

When it's our turn again, are we allowed to "know" that partner has a purer hand for the auction than might be the case had we passed earlier in tempo? 

On the one hand, neither partner nor anyone external has given us any UI at all. But we wouldn't have this extra information without our BIT -- can our BIT provide UI to us? 

Nothing much swings on this, but some very decent bridge minds differed on if this was UI or AI. In real life, I was the opener, and partner passed in the final position because he believed he had UI from his own BIT. I'm certain if he believes that's UI, then passing was the right thing to do, but I'm far from certain that you can get UI from yourself.

Thoughts? 

Cheers.

 

Is the information that partner bid on when he'd be constrained to pass if that was an LA authorized to the tempo breaker?

Yes, authorized. WTP?
Yes, authorized, but it feels somehow dirty.
That info is UI, and we can't more tightly define partner's hand than had we passed in tempo.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
131 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top