Join Bridge Winners
Can you pre empt over a pre empt?

I was playing in a club masterpoint game and I held

South
KJ4
104
9432
AK63
I was the dealer and all were vulnerable.

I opened one club and LHO bid two diamonds.  Partner bid three spades. RHO asked me what the bid meant

I had heard quite often, and perhaps read on this site, "you don't pre-empt over a pre-empt. That is what I considered was a meta rule for our partnership.  We have been playing for a while, but have no notes. We may or may not have talked about  "don't pre-empt over a prempt" I had agreed with my last regular partner that this was one of our meta rules, but I don't remember if I talked about this with my present partner.

We were vulnerable and I had opened the bidding.  Our card was marked, "Weak jump shifts in competition".  I honestly believed that vulnerable, after I had opened the bidding in first chair, that partner was not pre-empting over a pre-empt, despite what our card said. ( Since it was not my turn to bid, could I look at the opponents convention card, or ask them whether two diamonds was pre-emptive?)  Assuming it was pre-emptive I said I thought my partner had a good hand with spades.  RHO bid four hearts.  I bid four spades since I had spade support.  This was passed around to RHO who bid five hearts.  I didn't want to bid in front of partner, since I thought I had bid my hand.  Partner bid five spades which RHO doubled and the auction ended.

Prior to leading RHO looked at our card and asked North: "Doesn't this say that weak jump shifts in competition are preemptive?"  Partner replied: "it does"  RHO asked "Then your partner was incorrect in his explanation".  North replied "He was".  The director was summoned and told us to play out the hand.  

So we had this situation:

West
107
86
AK10875
1054
North
Q98632
92
Q9872
East
A5
AKQJ753
QJ6
J
South
KJ4
104
9432
AK63
W
N
E
S
 
1
2
3
4
4
P
P
5
P
P
5
X
P
P
P
D
5X North
NS: 0 EW: 0

Declarer went down one in five spades doubled.  When the director returned, what should the ruling be?  Should either North or South have said anything during the auction?  I might add, everyone was friendly and we look upon this as a learning situation.  We are all experienced players.  By the way, when does "don't pre-empt over a pre-empt apply?"  Is it just an urban legend?

 Note: Although the box shows none vulnerable, All were vulnerable.  My attempts to fix it have failed.

58 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top