Join Bridge Winners
Common Game 2017-03-26 Board 7
West
KQ
J865
9543
Q103
North
AJ942
1097
2
AKJ8
East
10863
Q4
AQ106
952
South
75
AK32
KJ87
764
D
7
West
North
East
South
P
P
1
P
1NT
P
2
P
2NT
P
P
P

Analysis by Oren Kriegel

After two passes, North opens 1, South bids 1NT--the upper limit on a passed-hand 1NT response to a major is the upper limit for passing in first or second seat; a natural 2NT bid by a passed hand is not a good bid. However, once North rebids 2 over 1NT, he more or less says he didn't open light (most of the time, when you shade your opening bid in third seat, you pass partner's natural response), so South has more security bidding 2NT than immediately over 1. 2NT still could be too high, but South must show his values. North has a sound minimum, but knowing that his side has at most 24 or so HCP, he declines the invitation.

West probably will lead a heart: 10, Q, K. Declarer does best to attack spades. He sees an honor from West on the first round of the suit, which doesn't always have to be an "honest" card. West might pop with his honor from Hx, Hxx, H10x, not just KQ(x). Winning leaves declarer awkwardly placed, because he's stuck on dummy, not wanting to play a non-diamond, but a diamond weakens his holding there. Better, I think, is to duck this spade and hope to judge correctly on the next round of the suit. That's easy here, when the other honor appears, but there might be a guess between Hxx and H10x.

West gets off play with a high diamond to East's ace, warning against a continuation, and East probably reverts to hearts. Declarer should probably rise with the A here, even though that risks losing three tricks in the suit, because ducking risks dummy getting endplayed. West wins the J and returns a heart. Declarer can't afford to overtake without establishing West's 8, but he'll have to play a black suit from the wrong hand. Better is to hope West can't get back on lead.

South can set up the spades, but on a diamond back from East he'll need to decide whether to finesse or not. There's a strong clue in favor of the finesse--would West have led from Jxxx if holding Qxxx? Probably not. Finesse the J and lead a club to the jack. When that wins and the suit splits, declarer has 10 tricks.

0 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top