Join Bridge Winners
Correct ruling on a claim?

West
A753
Q
AQ6
AK952
North
109862
1093
2
J863
East
J
AJ764
KJ98
Q107
South
KQ4
K852
107543
4
D

ACBL sanctioned club game.

The bidding went 1H-2C-2D-3N, NS silent throughout.

Final contract, 3NT by West. Lead T

South won  KQ.  Declarer won the third spade, cashed 4 diamonds ending in dummy.  North pitched 3 hearts and director discarded a spade. Declarer called for the Q and then claimed stating she would run the clubs. Making 11 tricks ( 5)

North challenged the claim and the Director was called and informed of the original statement of the claim.  Declarer then stated that once she saw the clubs were not breaking she would cash the  A making 9 tricks ( 1 1 4 3)

The Director awarded her 9 tricks.

If she had played the way she had claimed, she would have lost the 4th club and north would cash two spades for down 1.

What is the correct ruling?

Director's adjudication is correct.
The correct score is 3NT-1

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
110 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top