Join Bridge Winners
Declining a Penalty

The Scenario:

In a competitive auction, your RHO made a clear BIT on the way to a great contract, 5D -- the director was called and all parties agreed on the BIT.

After the play had finished, the director ruled that without the BIT, a LA for LHO was to pass and ruled 5C -1.

The Facts:

5D is cold on any defence

5C requires almost unfathomable defence to defeat

Almost the entire field is in 5D or 5C (and no one failed to make 5C)

The Question:

What right(s), if any, do the damaged pair have in declining a favorable ruling? As in, if you know you would not have defeated 5C....

4 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top