Join Bridge Winners
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?

South
J
K
Q982
AQJ9842
W
N
E
S
1
2
3
P
3
P
3
?

Yes, the auction is correct.  You had a brainfart, and meant 3H as a Western Cue Bid.

The director is called.  LHO doesn't accept the insufficient bid.Director calls you away from the table, and asks him what you had meant 3H as.

You told him it was a Western Cue Bid.

Under CURRENT RULES, would a correction to 4H bar partner?

Someone posted this hand on FB.  My view off the cuff was that since the 3H bid wasn't a misbid--South INTENDED to bid 3H (remember, I said it was a brainfart), so North should be barred if South corrects to 4H.  Others thought the current rules meant no penalty on a correction to 4H.

Can you all enlighten us, please?

 

 

Yes, a correction to 4H by South should bar partner
No, a correction to 4H by South should NOT bar partner.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
82 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top