Join Bridge Winners
errant claim

In a club game, declarer is at 4.  After trick 10 he has won 8 tricks.  His LHO is on lead and leads the Q.  

Declarer shows the Q7 and claims all but one trick, conceding the K to LHO.  Then RHO says, 'wait, you only have 2 cards and everyone else has 3'.

At that point, declarer notices he actually holds AQ7.  The director is called.

How would you rule? 

It would now seem irrational for declarer to play any other way but to ruff with the 7 and lay down the A next, dropping LHOs K.

Is the claim defective since declarer had the wrong number of cards? Or does his failure to see all his cards mean he must concede the K?

29 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top