Join Bridge Winners
Failure to Alert

West
Q4
A84
Q87
QJ1076
North
J10875
2
J10954
K5
East
96
K97
AK63
A984
South
AK32
QJ10653
2
32
W
N
E
S
1
P
1
1
X
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT East
NS: 0 EW: 0

This hand occurred in a Swiss Team match. Before South led, I as West said there was a failure to alert the double. I was asked what it was and I said it showed 3 card diamond support. North now called the director. The director came over and after being appraised of the situation asked each opponent to step away from the table to separately discuss the infraction. After this, the director returned to the table and stated that each opponent had declined to have the bidding opened backup. South now lead the Heart Q and 3NT was made. North called the director back and stated that had the double been alerted he would have bid 1 S and the hand would have been set. The director said he would poll some players and get back. Before the match was over  the director came back and said he had polled several top players (including one world class Pro) and no one said they would have bid 1S, therefor the result stands.

Later in the event we learned that an appeal had been made to the head director and he overturned the other director, ruling down one. The basis for overturning the ruling was never clearly stated. 

This is  the first time I have ever had the head director overrule another director, particularly in the light of the player poll result.

My belief is that North holding a singleton heart and five good diamonds didn't want to get in the bidding. Also North elected not to reopen the bidding since he was looking at the Club King and envisioned winning the Club and leading a Spade thru East's holding.

At the other table the bidding went 1-P-2(Inverted)-2-3-3N-P-P-P. Both South's probable should have led Spades.

By the way this was the first time my partner had played with me and wasn't sure that the double was Support.

Were we given a fair ruling?

77 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top