Join Bridge Winners
Failure to Alert

This auction occurred last week in a club game. South opened 13-15 1NT.

1NT - (DBL) - 2C - (P) - P - (P)  down 300.

(Inserted deal per request)

West
KJ73
Q
KQ52
KQ87
North
1062
543
A976
1065
East
Q85
KJ972
1084
J3
South
A94
A1086
J3
A942
W
N
E
S
1NT
X
2
P
P
P
D
2 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

  • Responder had Txx xxx Axxx Txx. 
  • They play Hayashi Escapes over a penalty double where 2C shows both minors.,
  • The double was not alerted. In opponent's system, the double showed a major and a minor.

The director was called to the table about the failure to alert the double. The director asked the 2C bidder if he would have bid if he knew the double was not for penalty. He said no. Responder did confirm he was showing the minors.

How would you rule?

Ave+ to NS, Ave- to EW because the failure to alert generated NS problems.
Down 300, Advancer could have asked about the double at his turn to bid. His bid was highly risky and he had better choices.
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
61 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top