Join Bridge Winners
Follow-up to "What's the Correct Ruling?"

West
K865
62
KJ972
76
North
2
KJ93
Q8
AQJ852
East
J1073
Q75
106543
10
South
AQ94
A1084
A
K943
W
N
E
S
 
P
1
P
1
P
4
P
4N
P
5
P
5N
P
6
P
6
P
7
P
P
P
D
7 South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

Director was called after the auction. The pair was playing Standard Blackwood.

The 6H bid was preceded by approx. 2-min break in tempo.

The 6H bidder was a world class pro. The 7H bidder was a B player. 

The Director allowed the 7H call to stand. 

A friend for whom I have great respect suggested I re-post this poll with further detail on what happened during the play of the hand. Opening leader (West) led a trump, picking up partner's Queen, and 7H made. Some questions include: 1. whether opening leader made a clear error; and 2. do defensive errors in the play affect whether you're entitled to a rollback of the 7H contract? In other words, when defenders make an egregious mistake, do they forfeit some rights?

I'm re-posting the poll to see if you would vote differently, knowing the outcome of the hand.

How do you rule?

Allow 7H
Roll the contract back to 6H
-1510 for EW and +980 for NS

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
88 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top