Join Bridge Winners
For Law Experts

In a club game with E/W vul., the auction started:

W N E S

P 1N 2D X

1N was announced as 15-17. After about 5 seconds and hearing no alert, South Dbled. A few seconds later West said "alert" and explained 2D as majors.

At this point the table agreed that South could take his bid back, per Law 21, and substituted Pass. (Yes the TD should have been called).

The auction continued:

W N E S

P1N 2DP

2H X P 3C

3H P P P

Before doubling 2H, North called the TD and asked if the withdrawn call by South was AI to his side. The director said yes, and then North dbled 2H.

Before passing 3H,East asked what South's DBL meant. North thoughthe was not required answer a bidnot made and the director was called again, ruling thatWest was entitled to an answer. The rationale was that East could ask questions about sequences not actually bid.

a) Was the TD right in stating that the withdrawn DBL by South was authorized information to North?

b) Was the TD right inmakingNorth answerEast's queryabout South's withdrawn DBL?

Which laws support your answer?

Yes to both A and B
No to both A and B
Yes on A, No on B
No on A, Yes on B

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
21 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top