Join Bridge Winners
General rules for when a convention is in use

When introducing a convention into your system, it is important to know when it is in use and when it is not. Do you have any general rules for this or do you go through all specific sequences and decide with your partner?

For instance, if you have agreed to play XYZ and an opponent doubles, is the convention still on?

a) 1 - (dbl) - 1 - (pass); 1NT - (pass) - ?

b) 1 - (pass) - 1 - (pass); 1NT - (dbl) - ?

Or if you play Gazilli and an opponent doubles?

c) 1 - (pass) - 1 - (dbl); ?

12 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top