Join Bridge Winners
Good News - Bad News - Good News

The first hand of a 28-board KO match.  I am trying to weigh how best to handle one of the better hands I’ve held in a while:

North
Ax
AK10xx
AK10xxx

My thoughts are shattered, however, by “skip bid; 3” on my right.

Since no suit bid seems appropriate, and 4 would appear to indicate majors, I judge to double.  After all; if partner passes, how bad can that be?

LHO cogitates a bit, then raises the ante to 4.  When this is passed around to me, I double again.  I’ll bid 5 over 4, hoping that this does the hand justice.

But I do not hear the expected 4 call.  No, my partner bids 4!

North
Ax
AK10xx
AK10xxx
W
N
E
S
3
X
4
P
P
X
P
4
P
?

Now what?

I figure that this has to be “real” hearts.  If partner had no four card suit, surely he would pass the double.   And, while it’s theoretically possible that partner bid 4 on xxx in the suit – I rule this out as highly unlikely.

Still, I have little notion how to either find out what partner might have – nor how to let him know what a moose I have in support of hearts.  Give him:  xxxx Q9xx xxx Qx and I sure like our chances in 7.  Ditto for Kxx xxxxx xxx xx.  Even if he’s dealt only xxxx Qxxx xxx xx we might easily make 6.

So – I just bid it:  6.

A diamond is led.  Partner’s mitt is:

North
Ax
AK10xx
AK10xxx
South
Jxxx
J9xx
QJ
J9x

He ruffs the diamond, tries a high heart – and gets the sad news.  East has Qxxx of trump.  After some thought, partner leads the 10 from dummy.  After even more thought, East wins the queen, and returns the diamond ace.

Partner goes for the gusto.  He ruffs in dummy with the king, cashes a high club, then pulls trump ending in his hand as he pitches a low spade from dummy.  Now.  The moment of truth.

Mr. 3 has pitched 4 diamonds on the hearts.  He followed to the club, and plays low when partner leads his J.  Does he hold something like:  Qxx none Kxxxxxx Qxx?  Or has he preempted with 7-4 in the pointed suits?

Partner goes with the odds that first chair wouldn’t preempt with 4-0-7-2 distribution, and ... is wrong Frown .

East wins the Q.  He has a minor brain freeze and fails to cash his remaining 2 diamonds.  Still, we are down 1 in a makeable slam.

After the good news of reaching a slam that could have come home – and the bad news of it failing – we at least are treated to some minor good news when we compare at the half.  “Lose 5” on this hand.

How such a small loss?

At the other table, the auction began: 2- 3.

And the auction ended at 3.

Don’t ask; just be grateful.

More to come from this match later…..

17 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top