Join Bridge Winners
Hamman Receives Sportsmanship Award
Bob Hamman

Photo by Peg Kaplan

Bob Hamman has been named the 2014 recipient of the Sidney H. Lazard Jr. Sportsmanship Award. The award will be presented at the American Contract Bridge League Hall of Fame banquet during the Summer North American Bridge Championship in Las Vegas on July 17th. Hamman is an ACBL Grand Life Master and a WBF World Grand Master. He has won over 50 North American championships and over 10 world championships. In addition, he has donated his time to numerous bridge service committees.

Mr. Hamman commented, "When I was told that I had been selected as the 2014 recipient of the Sidney Lazard, Jr. Sportsmanship award, I felt a major sense of exultation in joining the distinguished prior recipients. While I was moved by my selection, I certainly pondered why my failure to murder either Zia or Sam Lev had raised me to such an exalted level."

"The basic problem for the recipients of the Sidney Lazard, Jr. Sportsmanship Award is how difficult it has been and will continue to be to live up to the standards established by Sidney and Sidney, Jr. I am greatly honored by my selection as a recipient and hope that I can come close to the bar of sportsmanship which has been set by the man for whom the award has been named, the past recipients, and of course by the man who established the award. I shall treasure this honor. Thank you all."

Sidney Lazard Sr., the awards founder, added, "Our best player is also a fine sportsman. Bob tends to his business at the table while being an ultra model for good sportsmanship, good will, and good behavior. He makes the game more pleasant and more fun. He also was one of my son's favorite people."

The Sportsman Award was established by Sidney Lazard in honor of his son, Sidney, Jr., who died in 1999 at the age of 41 after a year-long battle with cancer. Administered by the ACBL Educational Foundation, the award is given annually to a top-level player, one who has scored a high-level finish in a major national contest. According to Lazard, the object of the award is to enhance sportsmanship among top players and to salute those who try to win with class and dignity.

Previous winners:

2013 Benedicte Cronier and Sylvie Willard 
2012 Michael Kamil 
2011 Betty Ann Kennedy
2010 Roy Welland
2009 Peter Boyd
2008 Giorgio Duboin
2007 Seymon Deutsch
2006 Ralph Cohen
2005 Nick Nickell
2004 Lynn Deas
2003 Larry Cohen
2002 Rose Meltzer
2001 Paul Soloway
Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top