Join Bridge Winners
Hesitation Issue - How Would You Rule?

West
Jx
xxx
KQJxxx
xx
North
K9xx
xx
AKJ10xxx
East
xx
AKJxx
Axx
Qxx
South
AQxxx
Qxx
109xx
x
W
N
E
S
 
P
2
3
3
3
P
4
X
P
P
4
P
P
5
P
P
X
P
P
P
D
5X West
NS: 0 EW: 0

Consider the auction shown above, playing a W/L Swiss match. East hesitated significantly over North's 4 bid (no disagreement over this). West chose to bid 5 (which turns out to be a decent -500 save; 4 will make 5 on a lead, 7 otherwise.  The A doesn't cash and the clubs set up for  pitches.). This turned out to be a hypothetical issue since the -5 IMPs did not affect the match result. Obviously, it could have, and at other forms of scoring would have affected VPs and would need to be resolved.

Possibly relevant facts:

1. West had a fairly ordinary 2-3-6-2 2 preempt, with KQJxxx and no outside cards except the J.

2. Both East and West are experienced players (W has about 13K masterpoints; E about 7K. This is not one of those "novices who need to learn to bid in tempo" issues.

3. For better or worse, W likes to preempt and freely bid again.  He is a regular at the local club and everyone knows this.

Should the 5 bid be allowed to stand?

 

Edit:  Hands added.

No. The huddle clearly suggested saving, and was unauthorized information.
Yes, West has no defense to 4 and is allowed to use his judgement
Yes, because right or wrong, it's known to be part of West's bidding style to preempt and bid again when many players wouldn't.
Yes; East's hesitation could mean anything. Maybe she was thinking of doubling 4 and bidding 5 could have been a disaster.
Other (please explain below)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
69 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top