Join Bridge Winners
How do you rule?

I came across this hand very recently and was wondering how people would rule.

West
6
AJ9852
K1098
94
North
Q10942
K107
764
65
East
87
Q64
J5
AQ10732
South
AKJ53
3
AQ32
KJ8
D

The hand occurred in a late stage of a KO event and you don't have to like the auction: West opened 1, East responded 2 and South doubled.  The next four calls were 2-2-3-4-5, at which point North put an end to proceedings with a double.

North led 7, low from dummy, Ace from South.  Two rounds of spades followed: declarer ruffed the second and finessed Q.  South returned a diamond which ran to dummy's Jack.  Declarer now played a small trump from dummy and, when South played low, thought for a long time, apparently removing the Ace, putting it back and removing it again.  North eventually said "It doesn't make any difference".  Declarer now played the ace, cashed K, ruffed his last diamond with dummy's small heart, North discarding a spade.  The Q was now played: North won with the King, exited with a club and scored his last trump on an over-ruff; three down and 500 to N-S.

Obviously, had declarer cashed dummy's A before playing Q, he would have escaped for two down rather than three down.  Declarer's position was that the comment "It doesn't make any difference" was an indication that trumps were originally 2-2 so it didn't matter what he did.  Note in passing that North did well to discard a spade rather than his second club when the fourth round of diamonds was played.

How do you rule?

As a subsidiary question, where and when do you think that the hand occurred?

 

63 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top