Join Bridge Winners
How do you rule on this sitiuation

West
8743
KJ1085
7643
North
106
A9763
974
KQ8
East
AKQ5
Q42
J105
952
South
J92
AKQ8632
AJ10
D

(Played in the EBU, Matchpointed. All vul.)

 

West Passes, North Passes, East opens 1NT - weak 12-14, South Doubles showing 13+ pts takeout orientated but can be converted to penalty, West bids 2 transfer to Hearts (NOT ALERTED), North bids 2 and all pass.

This isnt a bash a director or player question but hopefully an instructive hand for our directors so I wont post the decision.

North / South play X over a weak NT as takeout orientated with 13+ points but can be passed for penalty with an appropriate hand.

Wests 2 is a transfer to Hearts and is the EW agreement and confirmed by EW as such.

South asked about the 2D bid at their turn to call and was told it might be Ds or Hs and couldnt remember as they had just changed their system that ngith and had an earlier accident with it already.

This appears to be a classic MI as North wouldn't bid 2H with the correct alert.

I can answer most of the questions as I was one of the parties involved (player/directors consulted).

How do you rule and if you rule MI what do you adjust the score to?

85 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top