Join Bridge Winners
How do you view this ruling?

West
K87642
J93
62
J5
North
J103
KQ854
A9
762
East
5
A1076
KJ84
10984
South
AQ9
2
Q10753
AKQ3
W
N
E
S
 
P
P
1
P
1
P
2
P
2
P
2N
P
3N
P
P
P
D
3NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 Sw teams. E/W are both extremely competent and experienced performers. N/S a scratch pairing, and playing 15-17NT and 5 cd majors.

1C is announced as 'could be short'. No other bids are alerted (or alertable). At the end of the auction, Declarer said that in this position (3RD) 1C would show a sound opening. (An opening of 1S,1H, or 1D would be natural and weakish, but this was not disclosed).West enquired about the heart bids before leading. no other questions were asked, and no-one looked at the  CC's, throughout the match.

West lead a spade and 3N was made exactly, 2S,1H,3D and 3C.  During play, East commented on Declarer's shape (5diamonds) and stated that E/W were denied information. After the hand was over, and after deliberation. West said he might have lead a club, had he known the system. Director called. West said that had he known S could have 5 diamonds,and thus short clubs, he might have led a club.

Directors ruled: 3N making adjusted to minus 1. Although deep finesse says 3N can make on any lead, no table with an initial club lead did make (about 20%) The CC's of N/S were lacking in detail, and anyone looking at them would not understand the 3rd hand openings. (They would definitely ask questions though)

I am not having a pop at anyone  here. The Directors have a difficult job, with very limited time,and E/W were at pains to point out that there was nothing underhand going on. It was all friendly enough, and the ruling had little impact on the match (1-19, as opposed to 3-17).

However, is it right that directors can assume that just because 7 declarers didn't make on a club lead, the 8th won't either?  West knows that South is very short in the majors (at most 3 spades and 2 hearts), and chose to lead a  spade. If North had announced 'Any Shape' to the 1C opening, which would have absolved N/S, does this really point to a club lead from Jx?

Educate me, please!

50 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top