Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule?

Swiss teams, you hold, NV against Vul the following hand:

 

873

10

AQ109x

J1097

 

LHO        P        RHO        You

---          P         1         2NT

3*      3       3          P

4         P          P           5

X            All Pass

 

* 3 was alerted, and explained as showing a limit raise in support of spades.

 

A Spade is led, as both partner and dummy follow suit 3 times while LHO discards on the third round.  After the hand, We were told that we had been given incorrect information and that 3 in fact showed Hearts and a good 11+ points.  The director was called, and my contention was that the 2 main reasons that I bid 5 were that a) based on the explanation given, partner had to be short, and that b) LHO was limited, so partner was marked with some values.  Had I been given the correct explanation, I would not have bid.

 

The table result was down 4 (-800).  At the other table the result was 4 making for +620.  4 is inferior, but should also make with careful play.

 

Thanks in advance for all opinions, even if you abhor the original 2NT bid.  I will give you the actual ruling a little later.

Table result stands
Roll it back to 4 Spades
Something else (please elaborate)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
174 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top