Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule?

North
AK
983
KQ9643
42
W
N
E
S
1
2
P
3
3
4
4
5
X
P
P
P

East asked about the 3 bid, whether it was preemptive or not. His partner said it showed long diamonds and probably not too strong as he could have bid 2 and then 3 with a better hand and long diamonds.

Before East doubled, he again asked the same question about the 3 bid. And finally before he led, He asked North to correct partner's explanation if it was wrong. North repeatedly stated there was no partnership agreement and he was not required to say anything more about his bid or his hand.

During the play, it became apparent declarer had more strength than partner's explanation. East called the director and said he would not have doubled if declarer had corrected the explanation.  Declarer said he had misbid, and again there was not a partnership agreement on the jump shift.

 Director's ruling was to removed the double so declarer made 5 diamonds undoubled.

 How would you rule?

The auction must stand as is and no redress for the double.
The director can score the result as undoubled.
other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
84 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top