Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule, and would you request a ruling?

West
A
1097642
107
AKJ8
North
K765
AJ3
Q8
Q764
East
Q3
K5
AK96543
93
South
J109842
Q8
J2
1052
D

North led the five of spades to the 8 and A against West's contract of 3NT and West led the ten of diamonds to the king and called for "another diamond". East (illegally) asked "Which one?" and West said "the ace". NS called the TD who required a low diamond to be led, and the contract went three off. EW were fairly inexperienced juniors maybe of B flight standard. NS were more experienced.

Do you agree with the ruling, and how should the clause "except when declarer’s different intention is incontrovertible" be interpreted?

162 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top