Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule as Director?

Matchpoints. As east, not vul, I held : A J 5 3, : A J 6 5 2, : Q,  6 3

North, the dealer, opened 1  and I overcalled 2. (Yes, I know it wasn't a great call.) South bid 2 NT and my partner bid 4.  Now north went into a long huddle and eventually passed. I passed and south doubled, ending the auction.

We were down one for minus 100, a decent board considering N-S can make slam in clubs or 4. However, there were 5 pairs playing 4 and we were the only pair who was doubled. I considered calling the Director after the auction but decided not to. Now I'm wondering if I should have. If you were the Director and were called to the table, let us say you would make a ruling later.  Then considering the actual results, how would you rule?

Reset the contract to 4 hearts not doubled.
Allow the actual result to stand
Some other ruling not shown above

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top