Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule? (follow-up post)

West
AQJ42
J9
AJ10
AQ7
North
3
10762
Q9642
J86
East
K1076
Q8
K53
K1053
South
985
AK543
87
942
W
N
E
S
 
P
P
1
P
2
P
2N
P
4
P
4N
P
5
P
6
P
P
P
D
6 West
NS: 0 EW: 0

2D was not alerted, but when East later jumped to 4S, West volunteered that 2D had been a 4 card Drury (i.e. limit) raise.

Against 6S, I (North) led the D2 (low from odd).  This eliminated declarer's guess in that suit as well as giving him the timing to eventually pitch a heart on the 4th round of clubs.  Making 6.

After the hand, *I* (North) called the director when my partner showed no sign of doing so.  My claim was that had 2D been alerted as 4 card Drury in a timely fashion, my partner might have found a 2H call (in my view, 2H in that scenario is beyond obvious).  In that event, I obviously would have found the successful heart lead rather my actual diamond (a club lead was contra-indicated by partner's failure to double the 5C response to RKCB). 

The director's first reaction was that I (North) had no right to call the director--that it was up to South to do so if he felt he might have acted differently had 2D been alerted.  I must admit that I am skeptical as to whether this is correct.  

Nevertheless, the director, although adamant in his claim that my director call was entirely inappropriate, decided to rule on the merits of the call rather than its appropriateness.  After consulting several other players, he concluded that a 2H overcall over a Drury 2D was much more likely than over a natural 2D (a view supported by the results of a BW poll I posted a few days ago) , and therefore changed the result to 4S making 5 (instead of the table result of 6S making 6) on grounds that had my partner overcalled 2H, EW would not have bid the slam.

I am interested in your views both about whether it was wrong for me (North) to call the director, and how you would have ruled. 

North's director call illegal, therefore I rule table result stands
North's director call OK, I rule table results stands anyway
North's director call illegal, but I rule on merits that table result stands
North's director call illegal, but I change results to 4SW making 5 on merits
North's director call OK, I change results to 4SW making 5
North's director call illegal, but I change results to 6SW -1 anyway
North's director call OK, I change results to 6SW -1
Other. comments appreciated in all cases

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
86 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top