Join Bridge Winners
Howard Weinstein wins Lazard Sportsman of the Year Award

Howard Weinstein

Howard Weinstein has won the 2015 Sidney H. Lazard Jr. Sportsman of the Year Award. This prestigious award is named after Sidney Lazard Jr, who died of cancer in 1999, and was established to salute a top player each year who plays hard and, win or lose, does so with grace and dignity.

Selection committee Chairman Emeritus Sidney Lazard Sr. commented, “Howie works very hard at bridge and he does it a way that makes bridge a more pleasant experience for everyone.”

When made aware that he had won the award, Mr. Weinstein stated, “I have always tried to play bridge in a sportsmanlike manner by being pleasant and respectful to my partner and the opponents. I am truly honored to be chosen for this award.”

The selection committee consists of Steve Weinstein, Zia Mahmood, and Steve Beatty. Sidney Lazard Sr. is the Chairman Emeritus.

Previous winners:

2014 Bob Hamman

2013 Benedicte Cronier and Sylvie Willard

2012 Michael Kamil

2011 Betty Ann Kennedy

2010 Roy Welland

2009 Peter Boyd

2008 Giorgio Duboin

2007 Seymon Deutsch

2006 Ralph Cohen

2005 Nick Nickell

2004 Lynn Deas

2003 Larry Cohen

2002 Rose Meltzer

2001 Paul Soloway

Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top