Join Bridge Winners
Interesting Appeal hand from Turkish Club Championship

West
8
Q83
954
K109652
North
AJ1054
974
A86
A8
East
KQ762
KJ52
J1073
South
93
A106
KQ2
QJ743
W
N
E
S
P
1
P
2
P
2
P
2NT
P
3NT
X
P
P
P
D
3NTX South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

Another hand from Turkish Clubs Teams Championship.

DBL asking for lead, and W leads his . Declarer plays small and E wins with Q, and plays . Declarer wins with K in hand and plays 9.

East wins and continues and declarer plays small to A and makes his contract.

At the point when 2nd was played, had E ducked, declarer needs to take finesse instead of playing to A.

 

 

TD is called to table by EW players.  I do not know the caliber of NS players but E is one of the top world class players, Alfredo Versace. East is screen mate with North.

Non official facts that I gathered by interviewing some of the High Refferee Commision members of Turkey, who are bridge players.

1-East asks the meaning of 2 NT to his screen mate before he doubles. It is explained as 'invitational, maximum 12 hcp"

2-South on the other side of the screen explains it as "forcing"

3-NS do not have a CC or system notes available.

4-2 was not alerted. 2 was alerted as 11-17 hcp 3+ card.

 

EW Complain :  "Had I known that 2 NT was forcing, I would not double 3 NT and when I do not double, natural lead of my pd is and 3 NT goes down"

 

NS :  Double was made by Versace, east player. Even if we screwed up our alerts, he did not have an unexpected South hand regarding  what he was alerted for.  South had 12 hcp which was to be expected due to alert.  And defense can beat 3 NT on any lead. Defense can also beat 3 NT after Versace won the first . We disagree that our screw up had any role in the actions of East (Versace) and should not take him off the hook.  He doubled believing that South has an invitation hand, and South had that invitation hand regardless of what he meant while bidding it and alerting to West.  Versace took a risk in doubling an invitation hand by South, where North could have accepted it with 17 hcp. He basically risked a double where opponents can have up to 29 hcp (12 South and 17 North) and when he learned that 2NT was alerted forcing he is asking TD to get him off the hook.

TD adjusts the score to undoubled 3 NT for 8 tricks. (-1)

AC or  HRC, I am not sure which one, but I been told it is HRC, decided to let the TD decision stand with 2 to 1 vote.

 

TBF did not publish the details of incident and official testimonies and other things that led to this decision. If/when they do, I will be more than happy to add them.  

 

Reference to the information I wrote:

Kursat Ozsahin

Erhan Yamut

 Both Members of High Refferee Committee.

 

How would you rule as a TD or committee member?

 

 

116 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top