Join Bridge Winners
Interesting ruling at the Nationals

This hand is from one of the Pair games at the Nationals.

West
1092
10
AQ109854
Q4
North
J7
QJ3
KJ72
9732
East
Q86543
K9754
A5
South
AK
A862
63
KJ1086
W
N
E
S
1
1NT
2
P
P
3
3
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0
10
J
Q
A
3
1
0
6
A
2
7
0
1
1
9
7
3
K
3
2
1
3
8
J
5
1
3
1
9
A
8
4
2
3
2
8
2
2
2
2
3
3
5
6
5
7
2
3
4
4
10
9
3
2
3
5
6
J
10
K
2
3
6
4
8
10
J
1
4
6
10

You can follow the play to the first 10 tricks by clicking "Next"

With 3 cards left, East unwisely conceded since they assumed that declarer only had the A and club winners left.

Declarer assumed that East was conceding based on the "marked" club finesse and accepted the concession but West objected to the concession since they still had the Qx over declarer's Kx.

Declarer pointed out that West had revoked at trick 5 by discarding a diamond when clubs were played.

The director was summoned.

This is the position when the director was called with Dummy (North) to lead:

West
Q
Q4
North
Q
73
East
K95
South
A
K6
D

There are two issues to resolve here:

The first one is easy, West revoked but did not win the trick so there should be a 1 trick penalty to East-West.

The second is the contested Concession to determine how many tricks each side won.

Declarer claimed that A. if West had followed to clubs then there would only be the Q left and they could have discarded differently to win the rest of the tricks and B. if play had continued without the concession it was possible that West would have kept the wrong Queen after a club to the King and the Heart Ace.

East/West claimed that what cards declarer would have discarded without the revoke is irrelevant and that based on the auction, with North bidding clubs at the 3 level, and the early play it would be completely irrational for East to keep the Q since the count in diamonds was revealed very early and declarer was known to be out of diamonds and also because there is no way that declarer would have discarded the K from dummy if they still had a low diamond in their hand.

At the 10 tricks mark declarer had 4 tricks and the defense had 6 tricks.

What do you think the ruling should be?

80 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top