Join Bridge Winners
Interesting UI Problem

South
Q10x
xx
x
KQ109xxx
W
N
E
S
1
P
1NT
P
2
P
2
P
5
P
6
?

This came up in a Regional side pairs game tonight. After the auction, E/W asked for the director. The hand was played out and the slam made off a diamond lead (E/W have three cashing tricks but two went away on the diamond lead). N/S asserted that the hesitation did not demonstrably suggest bidding 6C; in fact, it suggested the opposite. Their system precluded them from right siding a NT contract and so both N and S knew N had to decide how to place the contract. South contended that once they bypassed 3N, his bid was clear both based on winning trick count and based on matchpoint theory (they were likely getting a bad board since they couldn't right side the 3N contract).

What's the ruling?

Result stands.
Roll it back to 5C making 6.
Split result - +420 for N/S; -920 for E/Q

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
83 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top