Join Bridge Winners
Is doubling after this (slight) pause Justified?

West
AK72
876
KQ10983
North
1065
AQ3
K1097642
East
Q83
J109542
8
J72
South
J94
K
AQJ53
A654
W
N
E
S
1
3
P
5
X
P
5
P
P
X
P
P
P
D
5X East
NS: 0 EW: 0

Swiss (IMP scored) pairs.

S paused slightly on 5 bid. NS are not a regular pair so don't have agreements at the 5 level. Before doubling 5, N asked what is 5 double.  E replied " not penalty but optional"

Is N's double justified? If TD is called what would be the likely and correct ruling?

 

Yes he has a double irrespective of partner's pass
N has a borderline double and is likely to be disallowed because of partner's pause
N's double certainly seems to be influenced by partner's pause
Other (please elaborate)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
97 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top