Join Bridge Winners
Is N/S damaged?

This happened at a social pairs game where no convention cards were required.

West
AK84
Q
7
AQJ10942
North
J93
109764
AQ9
K3
East
652
J83
J8652
75
South
Q107
AK52
K1043
86
W
N
E
S
1
X
XX
1
2
3
X
P
3
P
P
P
D
3 South
NS: 0 EW: 0

South alerted North's Dbl and Redbl, but the EW pair did not ask anything about them. It was supposed be: redbl means 6+ HCP, 4+ Hearts, Forcing; while the the later Dbl was an invitational hand.

The 2H there, per partnership agreement, always referred to 4-card Hearts with minimum hand.

After the bidding, South asked East what the 1H from West was, the answer he got was "Natural". 

Having played West for that 4-card Hearts, after winning the 3rd round of spades after AK, he entered dummy and played the T upwards and played small from hand. Much to his shock, East produced the Queen singleton trump.

Qn: Was N/S damaged?

Yes. E/W failed to inform that 1H could be 3-card (or that West was still forced to bid something to be treated as not penalising 1D)
Yes, but for other reasons (please elaborate below).
No, it was up to N/S to ask about the length of 1H
No, but for other reasons (please elaborate below)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
85 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top