Join Bridge Winners
Is this the worst change to the 2017 laws

There are many admirable changes in the new laws - however this one I don't like, from a practical point of view. (As a playing TD, handling calls out of turn is also going to take much longer)

Law 15 C (Old)

C. Discovered During Auction Period

If, during the auction period, the Director discovers that a contestant is playing a board not designated for him to play in the current round, he shall cancel the auction, ensure that the correct contestants are seated and that they are informed of their rights both now and at future rounds. A second auction begins. Players must repeat the calls they made previously. If any call differs in any way from the corresponding call in the first auction the Director shall cancel the board. Otherwise the auction and play continue normally. The Director may award a procedural penalty (and an adjusted score) if of the opinion that there has been a purposeful attempt by either side to preclude normal play of the board.

 

Law 15B (New)

B. Wrong Board Discovered During Auction or Play Period (4) 

If, after the commencement of the auction period, the Director discovers that a contestant is playing a board not designated for him to play in the current round, then:

1. if one or more players at the table have previously played the board, with the correct opponents or otherwise, the board is cancelled for both his side and his opponents.

2. if none of the four players have previously played the board the Director shall require the auction and play to be completed. He allows the score to stand and may require both pairs to play the correct board against one another later.

3. the Director shall award an artificial adjusted score [see Law 12C2(a)] to any contestant deprived of the opportunity to earn a valid score.

(4) - this law only applies to pairs or individual events

 

Thus if you arrive at the correct table only to find an incorrect pair there and one of the incorrect players has withdrawn the cards from the slot then you and your partner are going to have to hang around somewhere until the board is completed (and another pair in the room is probably getting agitated wondering where their opponents have gone to). In many a club it means that you are both going to unwittingly pick up extraneous information. Worse of all - if you were a couple of minutes late then the director is only going to award you an Average since you are partly at fault.

 

PS - I have produced a powerpoint that details changes in how players actually play the game under the new rules - it doesn't cover changes in rectification at http://www.portwood.co.uk/bridge.pptx .

35 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top