Join Bridge Winners
MI (?) Ruling

West
J42
52
KQ32
10842
North
K3
K9874
J108
J73
East
AQ109865
63
76
65
South
7
AQJ10
A954
AKQ9
W
N
E
S
2
P
2
X
3
P
P
P
D
3 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

2 is invitational to game opposite a weak 2, and I was satisfied this was the case  

X was not alerted. E/W didn't have a documented defence on their convention card, and seemed not to have an agreement. West thought it was Spades or Values. East said it was take-out, but had decided to do something different. 

South didn't see the double, but would have called the same.

Under Blue Book (this was a WBU event under EBU regulation in effect) 2D2 & 4A6 N/S are entitled to assume this is take-out in the absence of an alert.

4B2 defines P/C as natural, as confirmed by Gordon Rainsford at

https://www.ebu.co.uk/forum/discussion/65/alertable-double

3 showed short spades in an 18+ 3 suite, however North took it to show an extra spade when double was take-out  

Had double been alerted, and a David Burn explanation of "we don't know what we're doing, but amongst the possibilities are spades, not spades, and values" South would still have bid 3S, and North would have bid 4 to initiate a sign-off sequence.  Maybe E/W would go to 4, but they won't go to 5, so I adjusted to 100% of N/S +650 for both sides.

It wasn't material, and no appeal was held (I also offered an Appeals Advisor).

 

 

 

 

Please select up to 2 choices.

Ruling correct
Ruling correct for E/W N/S get table result
Table result stands for both pairs
Other
Keep the Deposit
Return the Deposit

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
87 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top