Join Bridge Winners
Negotiated Settlement

West
Jx
North
AQ
East
K
Q
South
xx
D

Club game.  South is declarer and on lead, at a notrump contract.  He leads a diamond and West plays low.  South dithers, says, "It doesn't matter," and (perhaps) makes a gesture to dummy.  East plays the K and claims his winning club.  East thought South was playing the queen; South thought he had not yet called a card.  They call the director.  There is a confused discussion about what happened: the facts are unclear.  Maybe North even touched the queen.  West says, "Hey, we're all friends here, and we're both partly at fault.  Give each side one trick."  South is willing to go with this, and the director makes that his ruling.

South gets both tricks.
East gets both tricks.
One trick each way is proper.
One trick each is legally incorrect but reasonable in this setting.
Flip a coin between the first two: no compromise.
Other, but no PPs. Both sides admitted error, and no purpose is served.
Other. I insist on PPs.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
61 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top