Join Bridge Winners
One side of a ruling

I played this afternoon at NYC's biggest club, in the hallowed "white" section. Before the last round, I saw the DIC hold a conversation at the table with the next NS pair and then with an EW pair at another table. I heard it related to a ruling and that in his opinion it was close. The DIC always leaves a half hour before the end of the game (to catch a train) and retained his right to change his mind about the ruling.

When I reached the next table, I discussed the situation with the North in question (a very good club director and excellent player). He told me the story of board 21 from the Common Game. West had:

KQ102  AQ864  108  53

NS vul only at matchpoints. North opened 1, partner overcalled 1. South passed and this hand raised to 3. North asked about 3 and was told it was weak. After North bid 4, West bid 4 on the way out. 

With the usual disclaimer that I have facts only from one side, I wouldn't think this would be close. A player has made a strictly limited bid and then hears her partner expects something else. I would think that pass would have to be a logical alternative, and the player would have UI that partner's opinion over 4 couldn't be trusted.

Can anyone make an argument otherwise? Can anyone imagine some extra fact the DIC may have had that was not related to me that would make this ruling close?

42 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top