Join Bridge Winners
Peculiar Situation - What's your Ruling?

You and your partner are co-directing a small club game.  A few rounds into the game, you are summoned to a table.  When you arrive, you are informed that declarer has two cards while everyone else has only one.  Examination of the play reveals that declarer simply did not play a card to trick 10.

Law 67 appears to apply.

"When the director determines that there has been a defective trick...both sides having played to the next trick...

1.  when the offender has failed to play a card to the defective trick, the director shall require him forthwith to expose a card face-up in front of him and then place it appropriately among his played cards (this does not affect ownership of the trick)."

He is required to play a card that he could legally have played to that trick, if he still has one.  He is deemed to have revoked and one trick will be transferred at the end of play.

The question is, when more than one trick intervenes, should the director follow this same procedure?  In particular, if the offender has in the interim played all of his cards that he could have legally played to the defective trick, and this has resulted in his winning a trick that he could not have won by playing to the defective trick, is this sufficient compensation to the non-offending side?

13 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top