Join Bridge Winners
Please comment on the Ruling

West
x
10xxx
Q9xxx
AQ9
North
AJ
xx
KJ1087
xxxx
East
KQ98x
AKQJ
xx
Jx
South
10xxxx
98x
A
K10xx
W
N
E
S
1
P
1
X
1
P
2
P
P
P
D
2 West
NS: 0 EW: 0

after N doubled 1, E asked S and S explained both Majors.

Matchpoints, Club event but NS have been a regular pair for more than a year and have also played an International Event for their country together.

After the deal , TD was called by EW. N told TD they play this dbl as Diamonds and 2 as majors over strong 1-1 . S said they used to play as Majors and they may have changed it laterly but wasnt sure. 

 

TD ruled table result stands (2 -1). His argument was if E can bid 1 knowing double is both majors, then he can also bid 2 on 2. E said that he had a minimum for his 1 opening and wanted to stay low so did not bid 2.

Please comment if the ruling is justified and why (or why not)

54 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top