Join Bridge Winners
Redoubling Isn't Rude
(Page of 6)

I recently was at the club in a pick-up partnership having mistaken a date with a regular partner. With both sides vulnerable, I had the excitement of picking up this hand.

West
A5
AKQ107542
A7
4
W
N
E
S
1NT
?

 

1NT at my right announced as 10-12. That puts me an odd spot. Most of the Souths have probably passed, leaving the Wests with the decision of whether to open 1 or 2. I have to decide whether to try to collect a number or explore slam.

 

How to proceed?

Since I'm with a pickup partner, we have no discussion of methods here. The only bid I can make that is sure to be strong is double. Being left here is the best scenario as I would be able to run the first ten tricks barring Jxxx in hearts in one of my opponents' hands. That's good for +1100.

 

The opponents ask about our double, but when my partner is reminded of the NT range doesn't hesitate to say it's penalty. Good! We agree on that.

 

I ask about their escape system and RHO hands me a convention card. "Touching Escapes" is written on it. Now LHO's bid:

West
A5
AKQ107542
A7
4
W
N
E
S
1NT
X
3
P
P
?

North makes the bid of 3C which his partner is quick to remark is not part of their system. Then 3 is passed back to me.

What now?

While it's tempting to try to punish North's 3 bid, I have no guarantee of setting it. Chances are North has short hearts behind me leaving the pointed aces as the only tricks I can really count on defending, but I can still count ten tricks in hearts, at this point, there's too much preempting going on to worry about slam and risk bidding too high due to misunderstanding. I jump to 4 taking my plus and hoping my loser's aren't covered, then something weird happened.

West
A5
AKQ107542
A7
4
W
N
E
S
1NT
X
3
P
P
4
X
P
P
XX
P
P
P

Yes. You saw that correctly, North attempted to double my cold contract, so I redouble and that ends the auction. North seems baffled at partner passing. "That's SOS!? He tries to claim." But he's on lead, so we continue.

North leads the K and dummy comes down.

West
A5
AKQ107542
A7
4
East
J863
963
10983
86
W
N
E
S
1NT
X
3
P
P
4
X
P
P
XX
P
P
P

 

She certainly had her passes. North's King holds and he continues with another club which I ruff.

Not much to do with my other losers so I claim ten and concede a diamond and spade. +1080

Now for the reason I'm writing this.

North seemed to take exception to my play, as we left the table and parted ways, he said "You know it's rude to redouble right? You already have a clear top in 4Hx."

At this point South chimes in saying "No his redouble is good, he gave us a chance [to run]." South's claim is somewhat legitimate, my redouble could have given away a top and made it a bottom for us. Here is the deal.

West
A5
AKQ107542
A7
4
North
Q1042
QJ6
KQJ1092
East
J863
963
10983
86
South
K97
J8
K542
A753
W
N
E
S
1NT
X
3
P
P
4
X
P
P
XX
P
P
P
D
4XX West
NS: 0 EW: 0

Had either opponent bid 5, they would have made. Partner has nothing and all my hearts get ruffed. I get my pointed aces and those are my only tricks, but I feel like I need to address North's claim now.

West
A5
AKQ107542
A7
4
North
Q1042
QJ6
KQJ1092
East
J863
963
10983
86
South
K97
J8
K542
A753
W
N
E
S
1NT
X
3
P
P
4
X
P
P
XX
P
P
P
D
4XX West
NS: 0 EW: 0

Here's the hand again for your convenience.

First is the attempt to convince partner that RD is SOS. How can that be. I jumped to the 4 level without any support. How could I possibly want to play anywhere but 4? Therefore RD cannot possibly be SOS.

He also claimed that 4x is a clear top. Not true either. Other Wests probably had the chance to open 2 with their 3 loser hand, and I have no idea that they are finding East broke. For all I know, partner has KQx xx xxxxx xxx which makes 6 opposite me despite not being good enough to bid over 3. In that case 4xx isn't even a top as 6 would be good for +1430. Even beating their 1N doubled -4 wouldn't make up for that miss.

Make one of the clubs the ace on the hypothetical hand and 7is cold, but partner might have bid that hand.

Finally, redoubling here is simply a competitive action that is part of the game. We cannot allow an action to pursue the best possible score to be seen as offensive. Where would we draw the line? Am I suddenly allowed to be offended by an opponent who collects the next double-game swing from me, or sniffs out a lead that makes me the only one to go down? The only thing I did on this hand that could have been rude was to write this article, so if North is reading this, sorry.

Anyways, I thought the hand was interesting and wanted to know if there is anything ethically or tactically wrong with redoubling?

What are your thoughts?

45 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top