Join Bridge Winners
Reisinger final round

In the Reisinger, the two leading teams met in the final round.  This was the first board:

West
Q102
974
AK82
A32
North
A10853
QJ1074
J106
East
6
KJ6
95
KQ98754
South
AKJ987543
Q2
63
W
N
E
S
P
3
3
3NT
4
P
4
X
P
P
P
D
4X South
NS: 0 EW: 0
A
4
5
3
0
0
1
4
2

West led the ace of diamonds, 4, 5, 3.  West then found the successful heart shift to defeat the contract 1 trick.  This was a full board swing, as at the other table the result was 4 undoubled making.  Had 4 doubled made, there would have been a different winner of the event.

There was no director call, so no ruling.  But suppose the director had been called, and N-S had objected to the heart shift on the basis of UI.

Due to the videos, we don't have to dispute the facts.  They are there for all of us to see.  Here is the link, which goes to just after the auction is completed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtU0LXbwvhQ&t=4h0m15s

If you had been the director and/or on an appeals committee, how would you rule?

354 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top