With the upcoming Rosenblum Cup to be played at the World Bridge Series and my Canadian bridge heritage, this seems like a fitting time to recap one of the most infamous events in bridge history. The following board was played in the 3rd quarter of the Semi finals between CANADA and GERMANY in Geneva 1990...
2♦* Weak 2 in either major
2♠* Either ♠ or takeout of ♥
X* Pass or Correct
4NT* Keycard Blackwood
X* 1 or 4 (mistakingly interpreted as 0 or 3)
After the 3rd round of ♦, Hobart showed declarer his KQx of clubs and play ended. Someone at the table announced '6 tricks' so all of the players who were under time pressure wrote it down and scored it up as -1100. If you watch the play, declarer had actually only taken 5 tricks which would mean 1400. In the other room NS reached their cold 6♠ for 1430. After the set they scored up the match as if the score was 1100 awarding 8 imps to GERMANY. The final "incorrect" score of the match was 154-151 GERMANY. Hobart awakened at 7am with play due to start at 9:30 and realized the error.
The Canadians took the situation to the director, who contacted the opposing side, got confirmation that the score turned in was in fact wrong. He ruled that the result stands and so the Canadian's were forced to appeal. The Appeal's committee upheld the director's ruling based on wording in the rules that the score had to be 'manifestly incorrect' for example 4S making 5 for 660 would qualify.
Thus the Germans went on to win the match and the gold medal.
Was this the correct ruling? Were the rules changed to reflect this incident? How do you feel they should handle this situation? Has the sportsmanship of bridge changed from this point in time to where players would concede the win knowing it was the correct score? Very interested to people's view points on this story.
Plus... it's free!