Join Bridge Winners
Rule this Claim!

I asked this to Kit Woolsey via message. He wrote me a reply but in order to prevent bias, and not to write a personal message to public without his permission, I will keep that to myself. 

West
74
Q93
Q105
107642
North
Q83
AKJ5
AK76
Q8
East
J10652
72
J98432
South
AK9
10864
AKJ953
W
N
E
S
7NT
?
D

Team match!

NS reaches to 7 NT from South, EW being silent all the way through. 

Lead is 4th best from West. Declarer claims without making any statement, as soon as he saw the lead and dummy.

EW summons TD. They basically say that if declarer plays the Q at T1 he may as well go down.

Whether this is relavant or not, other table also plays 7 NT and receives the same lead. Declarer at other table plays the Q at T1 and somehow goes down after that. 

TD says something like " I can not force declarer not to win the first trick with his cheapest spot available, and he has top 13 tricks, 6+2+2+3 =13" and accepts the claim and scores 7 NT making.

Do you agree with TD decision or not? (you do not have to agree with things he said, just asking his decision)

Thanks all

 

Related Laws in ACBL that I found, though it was not an ACBL event.

LAW 70

CONTESTED CLAIM OR CONCESSION.

 

A.General ObjectiveIn ruling on a contested claim or concession,the Director adjudicates the result of the boardas equitably as possible to both sides, but anydoubtful point as to a claim shall be resolvedagainst the claimer. The Director proceedsas follows.

B. Clarification Statement Repeated1. The Director requires claimer to repeat theclarification statement he made at the time ofhis claim.2. Next, the Director hears the opponents’objections to the claim (but the Director’sconsiderations are not limited only to theopponents’ objections).3. The Director may require players to put theirremaining cards face up on the table.

C. There Is an Outstanding TrumpWhen a trump remains in one of the opponents’hands, the Director shall award a trick or tricks tothe opponents if:1. claimer made no statement about thattrump, and792. it is at all likely that claimer at the time of hisclaim was unaware that a trump remained inan opponent’s hand, and3. a trick could be lost to that trump by anynormal21 play.

D. Director’s Considerations1. The Director shall not accept from claimer anysuccessful line of play not embraced in theoriginal clarification statement if there is analternative normal21 line of play that would beless successful.2. The Director does not accept any part of adefender’s claim that depends on his partnerselecting a particular play from amongalternative normal21 plays.E. Unstated Line of Play1. The Director shall not accept from claimerany unstated line of play the success of whichdepends upon finding one opponent ratherthan the other with a particular card, unlessan opponent failed to follow to the suit of thatcard before the claim was made, or wouldsubsequently fail to follow to that suit on anynormal21 line of play.2. The Regulating Authority may specify anorder (e.g. “from the top down”) in which theDirector shall deem a suit played if this wasnot clarified in the statement of claim (butalways subject to any other requirement ofthis Law).

E. Unstated Line of Play

1. The Director shall not accept from claimerany unstated line of play the success of whichdepends upon finding one opponent ratherthan the other with a particular card, unlessan opponent failed to follow to the suit of thatcard before the claim was made, or wouldsubsequently fail to follow to that suit on anynormal21 line of play.

2. The Regulating Authority may specify anorder (e.g. “from the top down”) in which theDirector shall deem a suit played if this wasnot clarified in the statement of claim (butalways subject to any other requirement ofthis Law).

Agree with TD decision.
Disagree with TD decision

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
220 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top