Join Bridge Winners
Ruling After Failure to Alert

I am curious about a ruling made in the Swiss Team qualification round on the first day of the Grand National Teams in Toronto. As East, I held Q953, A, AK752, A83 and this was the auction.  

W
N
E
S
1
1
2
P
3
P
4
P
4
?
 Before partner's lead against 4S, South informed us that his 2S showed a mixed club raise rather than Spades.

The director was summoned.  Away from the table, I told her that that I would have doubled 4S if I had known the meaning of 2S.  I also told her that I would double 5C if they ran. She told us to play 4S. 4S went down 3.  5C would have been down 2.

The director ruled that the table result of -150 stood.  She gave 2 reasons.  First, she conducted a poll and everyone said they would have doubled 4S with my hand.  Second, the 4C bid was so peculiar that it should have awakened me from my slumber.

I conducted a BW bidding poll and the votes for double and pass of 4S were exactly equal at 22 each.  Perhaps there was bias in the way the poll was conducted by me or the director.  I stated that 2S was preemptive which is what 3 of the 4 players at my table thought since there was no alert.  Perhaps the very fact that the director was asking alerted the audience that something was amiss.

In any event, I am hoping that someone can explain the ruling to me.  Is the gist of it that my pass of 4S is such a bad bid that I am not entitled to an adjustment?

66 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top