Join Bridge Winners
Ruling and Appeal (alert failure)

West
AJ5
Q1072
J76
KJ5
North
KQ6
93
K9832
1094
East
932
A8654
A5
872
South
10874
KJ
Q104
AQ63
W
N
E
S
1NT
X
P
3
P
4
A
?
D

 

Tournament : Interclub in Paris (1st division) : more or less a flight A régional

South and West on the same side of the screen.

 

South opens 1NT weak (10-12) and alerts West. West makes a "take out double" which is the correct explanation of the system. When the tray appears, North does not alert anything (this is a violation in France : any NT opening that is not 15-17 must be alerted) ; In a strong NT context, EW agreement is that X is 5min+, 4Maj. East bids 3. West then bids 4.

The result is down 2.

 

The TD is called and explained that if East had received the alert he would have bid 2 only ; West explains she would have passed.

 

Result changed to 2 =

 

North South appealed.

 

The jury established the fact i told you above, then maintained the score. One comment was that it decided to not judge the bridge, only that EW, because of the system, were damaged.

 

What to think of these decisions by TD and appeal committee ?

43 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top