Join Bridge Winners
Should score be adjusted?

Teams.  Iceland 40 team event, playing for seats in 12 team qualifying.

West
7654
A102
A97652
North
KQJ
9875
Q1083
Q6
East
983
QJ6
K4
K10954
South
A102
K43
J
AJ8732
W
N
E
S
P
P
P
2
2
X
P
P
2
X
P
P
P
D
2X West
NS: 0 EW: 0

West is expert+.  East is advanced, North and South are advanced+

2 is precision.  When the 2 doubled came back to west, he asked about the double, the answer was. - Suggesting a penalty.

Then West bid 2, and was doubled again,  6 tricks.  300 N/S.

When the hand was over, North said over the table.   I meant this as a takeout double.  We talked about this yesterday.  A double would be just equal to normal d bid by me.   South had forgot.

West called TD and wanted score adjusted to 2 making, If he had had Norh's explaination, he would never have bid 2.

I asked 5 expert players about what they would have done when 2 were doubled for suggested penalty, and all of them passed.

I asked 2 expert players, often members of appeal committees about adjusting the score.  They did not want to adjust the score.

I ruled.  Table score stands.

-------------------------------------

I made a mistake.  Where it was written,  ""When the 2 doubled came back to east,"",  Then I meant West.  It has been corrected

53 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top