Join Bridge Winners
Should The Pass be Disallowed after the Pause

In a club level team game, following hand came up with the auction mentioned

West
86
109653
983
1032
North
10973
K42
J
AKQ87
East
KQ42
87
A1074
J64
South
AJ5
AQJ
KQ652
95
W
N
E
S
 
1
P
2
P
2N
P
3
P
3N
P
4N
P
5
P
5N
P
P
P
D
5NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

When S made final Pass, W called Director, informing him about N's Pause and S's subsequent Pass and reserved his rights. N agreed to the pause. Director asked to continue and said he will get back. 8 was led, contract was made =.

After the deal, director came back and asked S what was 4N. S said Quantitative invite and he accepted as he had 1 more HCP than minimum along with a decent 5 card suit and couple of aces and showed aces as he accepted and so took 5N as sign-off as grand slam was out of question after quantitative invite to 6. N also agreed that his 4N was quantitative invite and 5H showed aces with no suit agreed. EW contested saying that the pause by N before the 5N bid conveyed UI and if the 5N bid was made in tempo, the 4N and 5N can be (mis)construed as RKC in Spades (last bid suit) followed by King Ask.

Director Ruled score to be 6N 1 Down. Since it was a casual Club game, there were no CC's. Also, NS were a non regular pair who have hardly played together. Their only agreements were Precision, 15-16 NT, std carding, RKC 0314 and defenses against 1C Strong and 1N (none of these were documented ofcourse)

Also, if it matters/affects the ruling, N is an expert and a very old man.

Please comment on the ruling and the process and what factors can/should affect the same.

69 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top