Join Bridge Winners
TD: You Land the Squeeze 2 Times out of 3

West
108543
AJ6
K1053
4
North
AJ9
Q103
Q976
K52
East
Q762
9742
QJ1087
South
K
K85
AJ842
A963
W
N
E
S
 
P
1
P
1N
2
P
P
3
P
4
P
4
P
5
X
P
P
P
D
5X South
NS: 0 EW: 0

A hand from the late stages of a very close 72-board play-off match. We play a Strong Club system, so my 1 showed 11-15 and the completely artificial 1NT relay is virtually GF. I told W, my screenmate, that my P of 2 showed 4+ .

4 lead, taken with the K ready for an eventual black suit squeeze against the fearless overcaller.  to J and K.  to 9 and E played the Q so I didn't need the squeeze any more. The  finesse gave me my contract. 

IMPs in, perhaps? No, E had been told that my P showed either (a) a three-suiter with short  or (b) and .  He summoned the TD and explained that he'd never have played the Q if he had been given a correct explanation. The TD spoke to us separately and, as our system is in The Cloud, it was clear that, systemically, the P really did show . (In a different partnership, my partner plays penalty doubles when a relay is overcalled. This demonstrates a problem playing with screens. If it had been F2F, he could have looked up and seen that it was me opposite...)

Doesn't really matter, I averred, as I make it on a squeeze anyway. Off went the TD to consult, eventually ruling that I'd probably bring home the squeeze 2 times out of three. 3NT made 9 tricks in the other room, so I'd gain 4 IMPs twice, but lose 13 once, meaning an adjusted result of not quite minus 2 IMPs. Good to see such respect for my dummy play!

We wondered afterwards whether N should have paused the game at trick one. After all, a long think and then calling for K, which held??? Surely something must have gone awry: maybe it could be remedied and play could resume with our opponents properly informed.

13 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top