Join Bridge Winners
UI logical alternatives? (Bridgewinners Poll suggests yes, surprising to me)

South
A82
QJ872
3
Q1074
W
N
E
S
P
P
1
P
1NT
P
P
X
P
?

Club Swiss

BIT by N before his first round pass (agreed, after first asking if they are playing standard. No convention card on table.)

I thought it was clear that the double is penalty (this is not a balancing auction; opponents are not known to have an 8-card fit). UI certainly makes it more certain that pass will succeed and that a diamond lead will succeed.

I did pass, but thinking a heart was a logical alternative to a diamond, led a heart. Diamond is better, but heart still beat it 2. Diamond beats it 4.Director ruled that pass was a logical alternative, because if we did not have a documented agreement that the double was penalty (we didn't), a logical alternative was to treat it as takeout. Thus he did not rule on whether the diamond lead would have been allowed.

For what it's worth, I started a bidding poll about it yesterday, without mentioning any UI. To my surprise, results were 10 for 2H, 20 for pass.

What think you?

40 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top