Join Bridge Winners
What is your Ruling?

West
1085
KQJ
Q86
J1085
North
KQ632
A52
1095
32
East
J4
9864
KJ74
K97
South
A97
1073
A32
AQ64
W
N
E
S
1
P
2
P
2
P
3
P
P
P
D
3 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

Match points: N-S playing 4-card majors, 12-14 NT.

After, South's 3 bid West commented: "Passing the buck".  North made 3 and West called the TD saying that South had fielded North's psyche. South said that he was not aware North had opened light and had it been rubber or teams then he would have bid game but at match points, with a flat 8 loser hand and no ruffing potential, he bid an invitational 3 despite having 14 hcp.

What is your ruling, please?

(Not really relevant, but in South's shoes I would have bid 3NT rather than 3)

Correction: It was West who commented: "Passing the buck" and called the TD,  not East. -  Now corrected above.

78 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top