Join Bridge Winners
What's your ruling?

In the A/X Swiss at a local sectional, North holds:

North
AQ
Q96
109
AKJ1087

North decides to open the hand 1NT.  LHO preempts 4, and South responds 4, alerted as a transfer to spades.  West passes, and the bidding continues with 4 by North, pass, 5, pass, 6, which becomes the final contract.   6 is the only slam that is cold (6 can go down with a club ruff, since LHO has a singleton and you don't have trump control).  South's hand is:

South
J43
KJ10842
Q932

At your table, you have settled in 5, making 6, having had a different auction with a similar preempt.  The director was called after the first auction and ruled that the 6 bid and result should stand.  The ruling was appealed.

What is your call?  With the unauthorized information given by north, should the contract and results stand, or should the contract be rolled back, and to what?

Tough luck, the result should stand
Roll back to 4, down a bunch
Roll back to 5, making
6 down 1
Something else

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
27 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top